U-Tools: Unique Tools for Windows System Administrators
U-Recover Help

Exposing Volume Snapshots

U-Recover can temporarily expose a Volume Shadow Copy (Previous Version) snapshot as a disk letter. The image, called a volume snapshot, represents the state of the disk at a particular point in time. If you delete or accidentally damage a file, you can recover the file from the volume snapshot with Windows Explorer (right-click or long-press and select Previous Versions).

U-Recover will grant you full administrator rights to explore all of the files in the snapshot. (Without U-Recover, Windows Explorer will not let you view private files even with administrator rights.)

The volume snapshot will be exposed as a disk letter (for example, as E:), allowing you to access your files without using Windows Explorer.

How to Expose a Volume Snapshot

To expose a volume snapshot use the following procedure:

  1. Click or tap on the tab Expose (top).
  2. Click or tap on the name of the disk volume with the Volume Shadow Copy snapshot images (for example C:). Click or tap Next.
  3. You will see a list of available volume snapshots sorted by date. (If there are no snapshots the list will be empty.) For each snapshot that you want to expose, click or tap on the selection box under the column Mount On.
  4. For each snapshot use the selection box to assign an unused disk letter (for example E:). Each snapshot must have a different letter. When you are ready click or tap Next.
  5. U-Recover will announce that it is ready to expose the volume snapshots. Click or tap on Expose.

It might take several seconds for the operation to complete. If an error occurs U-Recover will display a message box that explains the reason for the error. Click ok to continue.

Viewing the exposed snapshot

U-Recover will display a list of the successfully exposed snapshots. To view the exposed snapshot in Windows Explorer click on View Snapshot.

Keeping the snapshot(s) exposed

The snapshot(s) will remain exposed until you exit U-Recover, at which point they will be automatically unexposed. To keep the snapshots exposed after you quit U-Recover, click or tap on the box Keep the disk images mounted after finish. The snapshot(s) will remain exposed even if you reboot the computer.

To exit U-Recover click or tap on the red X (top right).

For more information

See Unexposing Volume Snapshots.