In rare cases when moving Active Directory to a new computer it may fail to boot with the newly loaded Active Directory. If this happens you can undo the procedure and restore the computer back to its original state.
To undo the loading of Active Directory
- Boot the computer in Directory Services Restore Mode (DSRM).
- Run U-Move and click on the tab Undo (top).
- Click on the option I want to undo the previous move of Active Directory. Please restore my computer back to its original state before I ran U-Move.
- Click Next, and then click Finish. The computer will reboot automatically.
When the logon prompt appears you can log on with the original administrator account and password. Afterwards, if necessary, clean up any affected domain settings.
Effects of Undo
The computer's registry settings and files will be restored to their original state. The items restored include the following:
- Original computer name and Internet Address
- Original registry settings
- Original file contents
- Original security settings
- Original user accounts and passwords
Consequences of Undo
The undo operation will restore the computer name and Internet Address to their original settings.
The undo operation will restore all the original registry settings.
User Accounts and Passwords
All of the local user accounts and passwords will be restored.
The access control list (ACL) for all NTFS files and folders will be restored.
Originally a Member Computer
If the computer was previously been a member of a domain, the original membership will be restored.
Originally a Domain Controller
If the computer was previously an Active Directory domain controller, the original DC settings and Active Directory state will be restored.
See also the topic Cleanup Steps After Undo.